The School Board... August 13, 2013

......accepted with appreciation donations made to Elkhart Community Schools (ECS): a check for \$500.00 from an anonymous donor to the Elkhart Central Athletic program and \$2,000.00 from NIVA to West Side Middle School to be used for athletics and volleyball.

- heard proposed revisions to Administrative Regulation JC, School District Boundaries, for initial consideration. Doug Thorne, executive director of personnel and legal services, indicated the revisions bring the administrative regulation in alignment with the changes to the boundary maps made earlier this spring as well as grammatical changes to make the language consistent throughout. Mr. Thorne stated he will provide elementary boundary maps to the Board members to review before the next meeting.
-approved the submission of the Title III Grant to the Indiana Department of Education for the 2013-2014 school year. This grant provides funding for Limited English Proficient and Immigrant Students (LEP) programs in the amount of \$325,781.
- approved the submission of a grant in partnership with Oaklawn to the Elkhart County Drug Free Partnership. The total amount of the grant is \$32,066. The grant will span two school years, 2013-14 and 2014-15.
- heard the Elkhart Community Schools Action Plan for initial consideration. Superintendent Haworth indicated this four year plan is the culmination of three action planning sessions held this spring with community members' involvement, a Board retreat, and an administrative retreat.
- confirmed the following administrative re-assignments: Krista Hennings, assistant principal at West Side; and Skip Smeltzer, assistant principal at Pierre Moran.
- confirmed the employment of the following nineteen (19) certified staff for the 2013-2014 school year: Damian Beauchamp, third grade at Bristol; Ashley Berger, art at North Side; Heather Blaha, art at Pierre Moran; Lorraine Cripe, math at Central; Nicolaas Dejong, special education at Memorial; Jennifer Dennis, ENL at Beck; Emily Fairchild, sixth grade at Beardsley; Lindsay Gagyi, third grade at Daly; Alysha Jackson, kindergarten at Woodland; Kimberly Kalamaros, ENL at Woodland; Penelope Mattice, intervention at Bristol; Aubrey Moore, art at Bristol/Woodland; Terilyn Montague, special education at Pierre Moran; Brandon Murphy, social studies at Pierre Moran; Stephanie Newton, special education at Pierre Moran; Connie Rhodes, special education at Roosevelt; Summer Runyan, guidance at Central; Erica Shaffer, third grade at Hawthorne; and Adina Sizemore, FACS at Memorial.
- confirmed the resignation of the following seven (7) certified staff members: Kathleen Bain, math at North Side; Charissa Barnes, second grade at Beardsley; John Hunziker, special education at Central; Cherri Jackson, Spanish at Memorial; Karla Moore, special education at Memorial; Janet Toland, ENL at Bristol; and Valerie Westphal, second grade at Beck.
- approved a voluntary leave of absence for Janice Cook, fifth grade at Hawthorne.
- approved a maternity leave of absence for Maria Hernandez, ENL at Riverview.

 approved a professional leave of absence for Gary Linley, fifth grade at Riverview.
 approved regular employment of Amy Franks, custodian at Memorial who has successfully completed her probationary period.
 confirmed the resignation of the following eleven (11) classified employees: Edry Danner, bus driver at Transportation; Peggy Hagans, bus driver at Transportation; Barbara Harwell, food service at Memorial; Jodi Lee, food service at North Side; Jennifer Perrin, secretary at Transportation; Erica Shaffer, paraprofessional at Pinewood; Jenna Stanton, paraprofessional at Hawthorne; Monique Thompson, food service at Central/Riverview; Kylee Vogel, paraprofessional at Pinewood; Emma Wade, food service at Roosevelt; and Sandra Wing, food service at Central.
 heard from Dr. Haworth the Board will have a public work session on Tuesday, August 20, 2013 at 7:00 a.m. at the J. C. Rice Educational Services Center.
 heard from Board member Sue Daiber, she is glad everyone is back and ready to start a new school year.

The Board Summary may be found on the Internet at www.elkhart.k12.in.us/content.php?id=79